Home > Trends > Eating Well

Eating Well

I have known most of my adult life that dieting makes you fat.  No question in my mind, the body wants to have a certain amount of income and, when it doesn’t get it, it decreases expenditures, unlike Washington.  The body goes into starvation mode and the pounds either go on or, at least, do not come off.

Pretty much every fad diet over the years has been a calorie restriction diet, either cutting down on total calories or severely limiting what you can eat, like the Protein Diet, where the trick is that you get bored of the same food and soon eat less overall.

Lately, a lot of people have been listening to Gary Taubes, who makes the backwardly-obvious point that, when we tell people to eat less and exercise more, we are telling them to do exactly the things we would do if we wanted to make ourselves hungry.  Isn’t that a contradiction, somehow?

Obviously, something is wrong with the prevailing wisdom, as people do not seem to be any thinner than they used to be fifty years ago.  We need new thinking here.  Mr. Taubes has some; don’t know if it is right, but it is certainly worth a read.  Food for thought, anyhow.

http://garytaubes.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/WWGF-Readers-Digest-feature-Feb-2011.pdf

 

Categories: Trends
  1. John
    June 3, 2012 at 5:37 PM

    When I was over in Qatar I did this. I shoveled in 3 huge meals of meat and non-starch vegetables. I dropped down to my lowest weight since I was in my 20s. I was never hungry and I had loads of energy.

    In the situation I was in, it was easy to eat like that. Not so much now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

