Home > Writing > FINISHED

FINISHED

Done.  Complete.  Through!

With the latest novella-to-novel expansion.  I am totally done.

Except, of course, not really.  From here, I go through it at least three times, fixing, tweaking, making sure the character’s name doesn’t change halfway through, that sort of thing, and always keeping an eye out that something doesn’t need a major rewrite.  Hopefully, not too many ideas will occur to me while I am doing all this.  This is the point where, were I a money-making professional author, I would hire a copy editor to take a lap through it.

Then, when really done, I download it and play with it in Word, formatting it for publication, going through various alignment issues.  Then upload the whole thing to Amazon, including the cover art I prepared some months ago.  Hopefully, I have the self-control not to push the “publish” button immediately, but instead review the whole thing on Amazon’s previewer.  Then publish.

Then…

I don’t really know what to do next.  My major choice, however, is between A) take the time to learn to publish this dingus on Kobo and Smashwords and the iStore or B) work on taking my previously unpublished novel, Vanguard, and publishing that on Amazon.

Vanguard would go very quickly, I think, as I went through it dozens of times when I first wrote it.  I wouldn’t change anything, just format it for publication.  On the other hand, I might want to publish it on CreateSpace instead, allowing for printed versions, and letting them format it for Kindle and other e-publishers.  I would have to review all that again – been a year.

Then again, I don’t want to limit myself to Kindle and the other e-readers are taking off.  Maybe I need to learn more about all that now.

So much to do with my so-far non-lucrative hobby.

 

Categories: Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

