Home > Publishing > Smashing

Smashing

So, there I was, investigating PubIt, which is Barnes & Noble’s ebook publisher for their Nook.  Turned out, they wanted a credit card, which I found odd.    Further investigation found that they wanted the credit card in case there were more returns of your books in one month than there were sales.  They would charge you, in that case.  Not something I would expect to happen very often.

But that same search turned up the fact that I could get on the Nook through Smashwords instead.

Turns out, if you format everything in accordance with their style guide, Smashwords will get you on every platform BUT the Kindle.  So, publish on Amazon and publish on Smashwords – make sure you charge the same price on both – and you are on most major ebook platforms.  And Smashwords doesn’t ask for a credit card, so I guess they aren’t that worried about returns.

So, I have Lifeboats published on Smashwords.  I am waiting for their final review to see if I qualify for the Premium Catalog, which most books do, which is how you get on the other platforms.  Once that is done, I will spend a couple of hours getting the short stories onto Smashwords and it will be onto the next thing.

What next thing?

Stay tuned.

 

Categories: Publishing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

