Home > Travel, Writing > Pompano or Bust

Pompano or Bust

Leaving for Florida early in the morning.  Will be hanging with my father-in-law.  My stepson is on his way back as I write and I am pretty sure I will be on the same plane tomorrow.

Brenda will watch the home fires.  I will attempt to write some while away.  Would be nice to get another book done.  Already on Chapter Four.

This book I would not publish right away.  It would be either the second or third in a series (Life on the School Bus).  Would like to write three, then publish together.

I remember back when Peter Davison took on Doctor Who, they started filming with a simple action-adventure story, then did another story, before they went and filmed his first episode to be aired.  This gave him the advantage of working out exactly how his version of the character was going to be before he had to work out the mechanics of getting there.  That is why I am starting with the third book in the series, so that when I get around to writing the first (at current velocity, sometime in 2027), I will have a very good idea what the characters are like and they will write much more smoothly.  If the third book in the series is a little weaker, readers will be far more likely to forgive me than if it had been the first.

Or so it seems to me.

 

Categories: Travel, Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

